About Us

~ Committed To Serving You ~

Vision

The Office of Academic Planning and Assessment at Sam Houston State University strives to be an innovative leader and example of best practice for higher education assessment and strategic planning.


Mission

The Office of Academic Planning and Assessment serves as a resource in supporting the institution’s mission of providing high quality education, scholarship, and service by:

  • Promoting and supporting continuous improvement of academic and administrative assessment initiatives at SHSU.
  • Supporting institutional accreditation and accountability initiatives.
  • Coordinating the academic strategic planning process.
  • Facilitating the undergraduate program review process.

Academic Planning and Assessment Staff

Dr. Somer Franklin
Dr. Somer Franklin
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/SACSCOC Accreditation Liaison
936.294.1009
somer@shsu.edu

Mr. Jeff Roberts
Dr. Jeff Roberts
Director of Assessment
936.294.1859
jeff.roberts@shsu.edu

Ms. Dawn Caplinger
 Dawn Caplinger
Director of Academic Planning
936.294.4156
dcaplinger@shsu.edu

Ms. Cynthia Jacobson
 Cynthia Jacobson
Administrative Coordinator I
936.294.1536
cjacobson@shsu.edu

Ms. Brandi Jones
 Brandi Jones
Coordinator III, Assessment
936.294.1353
bjones@shsu.edu

Heather Adams
 Heather Adams
Administrative Coordinator I
936.294.2427
heatheradams@shsu.edu

Jennifer Salazar
Jennifer Salazar
Student Assistant
936.294.2291

Ms. Tama Hamrick
 Tama Hamrick
Coordinator, Assessment
936.294.3279
thamrick@shsu.edu

Paige Mertz
Educational Programs Analyst
936.294.4013
paige.mertz@shsu.edu

Office of Academic Planning and Assessment
Bobby K. Marks Administration Building, Suite 208 | 1806 Ave J | Box 2394 | Huntsville, TX 77341
Phone: (936) 294-2291
Fax: (936) 294-4028