About Us

~ Committed To Serving You ~

Vision

The Office of Academic Planning and Assessment at Sam Houston State University strives to be an innovative leader and example of best practice for higher education assessment and strategic planning.


Mission

The Office of Academic Planning and Assessment serves as a resource in supporting the institution’s mission of providing high quality education, scholarship, and service by:

  • Promoting and supporting continuous improvement of academic and administrative assessment initiatives at SHSU.
  • Supporting institutional accreditation and accountability initiatives.
  • Coordinating the academic strategic planning process.
  • Facilitating the undergraduate program review process.

Academic Planning and Assessment Staff

Administrative

Dr. Somer Franklin
Dr. Somer Franklin
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/SACSCOC Accreditation Liaison
936.294.1009
somer@shsu.edu

Ms. Tama Hamrick
 Dr. Tama Hamrick
Coordinator
936.294.1536
thamrick@shsu.edu


Sasha Johnson
Student Assistant
936.294.2291

Academic Planning

Ms. Dawn Caplinger
 Dawn Caplinger
Director of Academic Planning
936.294.4156
dcaplinger@shsu.edu


 Nikki Stifflemire
Administrative Coordinator I
936.294.2427
nda007@shsu.edu


 Amy Gandara
Administrative Coordinator I

arg019@shsu.edu

Paige Mertz
Educational Programs Analyst
936.294.4013
paige.mertz@shsu.edu


 Ray Yates
Program Analytics Specialist

dry005@shsu.edu

Assessment

Ms. Brandi Jones
 Brandi Jones
Director of Assessment
936.294.1353
bjones@shsu.edu

Jessica Collier
Associate Director of Assessment
936.294.4062
jessica.collier@shsu.edu

Rachel Bubela
Assessment Coordinator
936.294.1859
bubela@shsu.edu

Ms. Tama Hamrick
 Dr. Tama Hamrick
Coordinator
936.294.1536
thamrick@shsu.edu

Office of Academic Planning and Assessment
John W. Thomason Building, Suite 303 | 1831 University Avenue | Box 2394 | Huntsville, TX 77341
Phone: (936) 294-2291
Fax: (936) 294-4028