Diversity Committee, Faculty

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Associate Vice President for Human Resources and Diversity

Number of Members: 10

Updated:  September 2022

Purpose. Examine the diversity status of the faculty and Academic Affairs' professional staff. Recommend strategies for improving diversity at the University and College levels. The committee is to provide recommendations for improving diversity in the Division of Academic Affairs.

Member Appointments. The Committee shall consist of the following members: a faculty member from each of the academic colleges and Newton Gresham Library, and a Chair. The President of the University shall make all appointments from nominations submitted by the academic Deans (from each college) and the Executive Director of Newton Gresham Library. The faculty members shall serve rotating three-year terms. Two nominations for each position on the committee shall be presented to the President of the University.

Chair Appointment. The Chair will serve an indefinite term. When needed, the Provost will nominate the replacement and the President will make the appointment.

Committee Members

Chair - Indefinite Term
Mary Petron, College of Education

Terms Expire August 31, 2023
Tarek Trad, College of Science and Engineering Technology

Maki Hatanaka, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Amanda Scarbrough, College of Health Sciences

Terms Expire August 31, 2024
Nam Young Kim, College of Arts and Media

Andia Azimi, College of Criminal Justice
Dennis Wooten, College of Osteopathic Medicine

Terms Expire August 31, 2025
Tiffany Maldonado, College of Business Administration
Stacy Johnson, Newton Gresham Library
Demetrius Cofield, College of Education

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Dr. Tama Hamrick