Excellence in Teaching Committee

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members: 9

Faculty: 9

Correct as of: August 2020

Purpose. Selects the recipient for a $5,000 monetary award for Excellence in Teaching.

Member Appointments. The President makes all appointments from University Faculty Senate nominations.  The members serve three-year terms expiring at the end of the fiscal year.

Chair Appointment. The President designates the chair.

Note: Past Winners of this award can be found here.

Committee Members

Term for Chair expires August 31, 2021

Mary Swarthout*, Chair

Terms expire August 31, 2021

Charles Capps, Business Administration
Mary Swarthout*, Science and Engineering Technology
Julie Hall, Humanities and Social Sciences
Alma Contreras-Vanegas, Education

Terms expire August 31, 2022

Magdalena Denham, Criminal Justice
Craig Henderson, Humanities and Social Sciences

Terms expire August 31, 2023

Nicholas Graves, Arts and Media
Stephen Brown, Health Sciences
Kevin Lord, Osteopathic Medicine

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Tama Hamrick
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394
Email: thamrick@shsu.edu