Curriculum Committee

Appointed by: Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reports to: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members: 21

Administrative 9

Faculty 11

Ex officio 2

Updated:  September 2021

Purpose. The committee is charged with reviewing for academic integrity the curriculum requests to resolve conflicts to the extent possible.  This includes responsibility of carefully reviewing the curriculum submissions to determine if information provided for all request for new programs and/or courses are complete, to analyze proposed additions and changes in courses in the interest of identifying areas of possible overlap or duplication, and to work toward a resolution of potential problems before the matters come up for discussion by the Academic Affairs Council.  It is expected that committee member(s) will be knowledgeable of the details of the curriculum submissions from their respective colleges in the interest of responding to most questions, which may arise in committee meetings.

Member Appointments. The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs makes all appointments from nominations submitted by the academic deans and the Director of the Newton Gresham Library. The committee consists of one associate dean from each academic college, who serves on the college-level curriculum committee; one faculty member, from each academic college, who serves on the respective departmental curriculum committee (if relevant) and college curriculum committee; one faculty member from the Newton Gresham Library; and ex-officio members to include one staff member for Academic Affairs and one staff member from the Registrar's Office. The associate deans, library representative, and ex-officio members serve indefinite terms; the remaining faculty members serve two-year terms ending August 31 with half of the appointments expiring each year. 
Chair Appointment. One faculty member is nominated each year by the University Faculty Senate to serve as chair-elect for the committee, serving the following year as chair.  The chair serves a one-year term ending August 31. 

Committee Members

Terms expire August 31, 2022:

Michael Demson, Chair
Todd Primm, Chair-elect

Indefinite Terms:

Michael Hanson, Director of Library Technical Services, Newton Gresham Library
Kurt Jesswein, Associate Dean, College of Business Administration
Melinda Holt, Associate Dean, College of Science and Engineering Technology
Brian Miller, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Media
Janet Mullings, Associate Dean, College of Criminal Justice
Carroll Nardone, Associate Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Jannah Nerren, Associate Dean, College of Education
Ryan Zapalac, Associate Dean, College of Health Sciences
Stephen McKernan, Associate Dean, College of Osteopathic Medicine
Mary Catherine Breen, Executive Director, Academic Success Center

Terms expire August 31, 2022:

Deborah Popham, College of Arts and Media
Yue Xie, 
College of Health Sciences

Terms expire August 31, 2022:

Sharon Gustowski, College of Osteopathic Medicine

Terms expire August 31, 2023:

Russell Lundberg, College of Criminal Justice
Yixin Chen, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Doug Berg, College of Business Administration
Mary Petron, College of Education
Ryan Saucier, College of Science and Engineering Technology

Ex officio members:

Dawn Caplinger, Office of Academic Planning and Assessment
Edgard Sanchez, Office of the Registrar

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Tama Hamrick
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394