## **Official English Language Nations**

The following are countries that recognize English as an official language. If your country of citizenship is listed below, you are exempt from the English Proficiency requirement for application to Sam Houston State University.

Anguilla	New Zealand
Antigua and Barbuda	Nigeria
Australia	Niue
The Bahamas	Norfolk Island
Barbados	Northern Mariana Islands
Belize	Palau
Belgium	Papua New Guinea
Bermuda	Philippines
Botswana	Pitcairn Islands
British Virgin Islands	Rwanda
Burundi	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Cameroon	Saint Lucia
Canada	Samoa
Cayman Islands	Seychelles
Christmas Island	Sierra Leone
Cook Islands	Singapore
Dominica	Sint Maarten
Fiji	Solomon Islands

Gambia	Somalia
Ghana	South Africa
Grenada	South Sudan
Guyana	Sudan
Hong Kong	Swaziland
Ireland	Tanzania
Jamaica	Tonga
Jersey	Trinidad and Tobago
Kenya	Turks and Caicos Islands
Liberia	Tuvalu
Malawi	Uganda
Malta	United Kingdom
Marshall Islands	Zambia
Federated States of Micronesia	Zimbabwe
Namibia	