Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

COM DEI Initiatives


To foster educational excellence, promote community engagement, and embrace a culture of diversity, equity, and inclusion among all members of our COM. The committee will advance recommendations to other committees and the leadership of the COM in support of diverse students, faculty, and staff, as well as broader action towards increasing diversity across the community surrounding the College. The committee seeks to promote understanding and facilitate dialogue and scholarship intended to inform its stakeholders about the diversity characterizing members of our campus community and beyond, thereby combating racism, sexism, ableism, classism, homophobia, transphobia, xenophobia, and any other form of prejudice and discrimination.


Educate and facilitate integration of all COM members into a mutually affirmative community while emphasizing the need for an environment conducive to holistic growth consistent with the fundamental principles of the college.  


  1. raise awareness of the diversity existing within our multiple professional roles;
  2. promote diversity, equity, and inclusion among faculty, students, and staff of our COM;
  3. encourage integration of diversity training throughout our curriculum; and promote awareness of university and community events related to diversity and inclusion.        


The Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion is composed of five faculty and staff members and five students for two-year, staggered terms. Five student members, including at least two from each of the first-year and second-year classes, are elected by the SHSU-COM student body.  With the approval of the Executive Committee, the Dean may also appoint up to three additional faculty members to represent diverse perspectives within the College as are deemed appropriate. The committee shall meet at least three times per academic year. A representative of the College Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee shall attend appropriate university meetings.

22-23 Chair: Dennis Wooten
Support: Paris Piotter
22-23 Members:
Keith Ahee
Cenaiyda Carranza
Christine Coursey
Perla Marquez Dominicis
Rachel Erickson
Jaime Hinojosa
Tess Johnson
Mary Manis
Sureni Mullegama
Doris Newman
Talrah Pantallion
Amber Sechelski
Natasha Shah
Christopher Truong
22-23 Student Members:
Laura Knittig
Radhika Patel
Samyukthaa Saiprakash
Monica Wojciechowski


Upcoming Events:


Current Events:

Battery Drivepng

2023 Battery Drive Benefiting the Montgomery County Women's Shelter

-Please bring new AAA size batteries to the collection boxes located on the first floor and Mezzanine.

-Donations will be accepted until March 31.

DEI Cookbook March 2023 

Past Events:

SNMA Flyer

DEI Resources: