Educator Preparation Programs

Students who are preparing to teach in Texas must first identify the grade level that they prefer; then select a teaching field. At SHSU, teacher certification programs are offered to undergraduates in the areas listed below. 

Bachelor of Science in Education

  • EC-6 Generalist Certification
  • EC-6 Generalist, with EC-12 Special Education Certifications
  • EC-6 Generalist, with Bilingual Spanish Certifications
  • 4-8 Mathematics Certification
  • 4-8 Mathematics/Science Composite Certification
  • 4-8 English Language Arts and Reading/ Social Studies Composite Certification
  • Early Childhood Education – Certification not offered in Texas

All-Level: Early Childhood through Grade 12 (major in the teaching field)

  • Physical Education
  • Art
  • Music (Choral or Instrumental)
  • Languages Other than English (Spanish)
  • Theatre

Secondary: Grades 6 or 8 through 12 (major in the teaching field)

  • Agricultural Science and Technology
  • Computer Science
  • English Language Arts & Reading
  • Family and Consumer Science
  • History
  • Journalism
  • Mathematics
  • Life Science
  • Physical Science
  • Social Studies (Composite)
  • Speech
  • Technology Education
  • Trade and Industrial Education