## Dear CJ GSO Community,

With my tenure as president coming to a close, I would like to once again reflect on all the accomplishments of the Criminal Justice Graduate Student Organization (CJ GSO) this past semester and introduce you to the 2014-2015 Officers.

Many of the officer's activities this semester were aimed at the organization's sustainability. Through the Office of Graduate Studies, we secured \$8,000.00 in leadership scholarships for the subsequent officers of CJ GSO to be awarded in perpetuity. With the Office of Graduate Studies, we generated four criteria for the officers to receive this scholarship: (1) the officers must attend an all-day leadership event each semester that is sponsored by the Office of Graduate Studies, (2) officers must participate in leadership transitional activities at the beginning and end of their tenure, (3) officers must leave \$100 in start-up money for the next administration, and (4) officers must provide to their constituents a "State of the Organization" in written form at the conclusion of every semester. To accommodate this opportunity, a Constitutional Amendment was passed that specified minimum terms of services.

Financially our		
, organization is	2013-2014 Sponsors, Officers, and Committee Chairs	
thriving. Currently,	Danielle Boisvert, Ph.D.	Faculty Sponsor
	Seth Fallik, M.S.	President
we have	Mai Naito, M.A.	Vice President – Doctorate; Public Relations Chair
approximately \$150	Cassidy DeHaan	Vice President – Masters; Networking Co-Chair
on hand and the	, Erin Castro	Secretary/Treasurer; Networking Co-Chair
next administration	Bradley Campbell, M.A.	Research and Theory Development Chair
will inherit	Melissa Petkovsek, M.S.	Teaching Excellence Chair
approximately	Richard Lewis, M.S.	Organizational Standing Chair
\$945.00 in t-shirts	Jessica Wells, M.A.	Service Chair
(all paid for), a grill,	Layne Dittman	Social Chair

and cook-out supplies. T-shirts were purchased following a successful solicitation for \$500.00 in "startup" money from the Campus Life Development Fund. The officers also sponsored a tour to the Southeast Texas Applied Forensic Science Facility's (STAFS) body farm to kick-off the semester.

In addition to the work of the officers, our committees also sponsored a number of events on behalf of CJ GSO. The Research and Theory Development Committee hosted three Brown-Bags this semester. Prior to the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences annual meeting in Philadelphia, Drs. Danielle Boisvert and Cortney Franklin presented on *Conference Do's & Don'ts* and Dr. William Oliver and his Qualitative Research Methods Class offered some insights on *Philadelphia, Qualitative Research, and the Code of the Streets*. Additionally, Drs. Danielle Boisvert, Kelly Knight, and Maria Koeppel discussed *Jobs beyond Academia* after members from the organization expressed an interest in this topic.

At the beginning of the semester, the Networking and Social Events Committee sponsored a "Meet and Greet" with the Graduate Student Psychology Organization (GSPO) at Margaritas Mexican Restaurant and they also continued the tradition (known as *Exam Jam*) of free pizza to late night dungeon dwellers during midterms. The Service Committee volunteered at the Graduate Research Exchange and helped the Crime Victims Institute (CVI) throughout Sexual Assault Awareness Month (SAAM) at Sam. CJ GSO also made a \$50 donation to help SAAM with start-up costs. With service becoming a larger part of the

organizations mission, we also voted to constitutionally expand the role of the Service Committee to include collaborative events with the Office of Graduate Studies. Finally, we celebrated the conclusion of this administration's tenure with an ice cream and cake event for graduate students, faculty, and staff.

Newly Elected Officers		
Ashley Fansher	President	
Meghan Mitchell	Vice President – Doctorate	
Kiersten Compofelice	Vice President – Masters	
Kellie Van Dyke	Secretary/Treasurer	

The crowning moment for CJ GSO this past semester, however, was last Wednesday when we

democratically elected next year's officers. I am confident they will uphold our mission statement but they cannot do it alone. So, I would encourage you to get actively engaged as a committee chair, committee member, or voice of support.

This organization has always been bigger than any one individual and this past year we had a lot of support from administrators (Dean Vincent Webb, Ph.D. and Gaylene Armstrong, Ph.D.) and staff (Doris Powell, Ann Broussard, and Karen Eads). I'd also like to thank our Committee Chairs (Bradley Campbell, Melissa Petkovsek, Rick Lewis, Jessica Wells, and Layne Dittman) and faculty sponsor (Danielle Boisvert, Ph.D.) for their efforts this past year. Finally, the engine that powered this year's organization was my fellow officers Mai Naito (Vice-President – Doctorate; Public Relations Chair), Cassidy DeHaan (Vice-President – Masters; Networking Co-Chair), and Erin Castro (Secretary/ Treasurer; Networking Co-Chair). Thank you for each of your efforts and I look forward to seeing you at the next administration events!

Sincerely,

Seth Fallik, M.S.

CJ GSO President Doctoral Candidate Graduate Research Assistant Doctoral Teaching Fellow