• SamWeb iconSamWeb
  • My Sam iconMy Sam
  • E-mail iconE-mail
  • SHSUOnline | Blackboard

Fast Links


CHSS Award


College of Humanities and Social Sciences College Wide Research Award 2007-2008

Awards and Recognitions

Dr. Alessandro Bonanno will deliver the keynote address at the VIII International Conference of the Research Network on Global Food. The conference will be held in Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico in October 2010.

Dr. Bonanno's latest book "From Community to Consumption: New and Classical Theme is Rural Sociological Research" is scheduled to be published in Fall 2010.

In November 2009 the Texas Board of Higher Education appointed Dr. Bonanno: Distinguished Professor of Sociology.

Dr. Jin Young Choi currently serves as an advisory board member for the Korean Nurses Association, Houston, TX. In 2008 she was awarded a Faculty Research Grant from Sam Houston State University to conduct her work on "Survivorship of Individuals with Cancer Generated Facial Disfigurement.”

In June Dr. Douglas H. Constance represented Sam Houston State University at a meeting held in Fayetteville, Arkansas to develop a national standard for sustainable agriculture. Dr. Constance is a member of the Standards Committee. The meeting was administered by the Leonardo Academy acting as an agent of the American National Standards Institute.

Dr. Contance delivered the Presidential Address entitled "The Four Questions in Agrifood Studies: A View from the Bus" at the annual meeting of the Agriculture, Food, and Human Values Society meetings held in New Orleans, Louisiana on June 6, 2008.

Dean de Castro and Douglas Constance

Dr. Constance was honored with the Department Excellence in Research Award presented to him by the SHSU College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

He and Dr. Theodori currently serve as the editors for the Journal of Rural Social Sciences.


Dr. Furjen Deng has been nominated to serve of as Chair of the Board of Directors for the Light and Salt Association of Houston and is a member of the executive committee for the Global Chinese Breast Cancer Support Group Alliance. Both positions are held between 2008-2010.

Dr. Karen Douglas currently serves as president-elect for the Southwestern Sociological Association.  

Dr. Gene Theodori will be awarded the Excellence in Extension and Public Outreach Award by the Rural Sociological Society during the 2010 meeting in August.

Dean de Castro and Gene Theodori

Dr. Theodori was honored with the Excellence in Teaching Award presented to him by the SHSU College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

He and Dr. Constance currently serve as the editors for the Journal of Rural Social Sciences.



Dr. Sujey Vega was accepted to participate in the Spelman-National Women’s Studies Association summer institute, “Women of Color: Theory, Scholarship, and Activism ” in 2009.

Dr. Mary Ann Davis was elected to the Southwest Sociological Association’s Executive Council.

Mona Avalos won the Best Student Paper Award for her paper: Straight from the Public: Views on Deslaination of Oilfied Brine. – 2009 Annual Meeting of the Southern Rural Sociological Association , February 1-3, in Atlanta, GA. She also received second place honors for the SHSU Writing Center "The Measure of a Life" essay contest (Spring 2009).


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor