SHSU logo
media info
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Today@Sam |  Headlines |  Calendar |  Experts  |  Notices |  Archives |  Search

Staff Excellence Award Nominations Due

Nominations are being accepted through March 27 for Staff Excellence Awards for the 2001-2002 academic year. Three recipients, including one exempt and two non-exempt staff employees, will be selected.

"We have a lot of great employees at Sam Houston State University and it's a shame that more can't be selected," said Charles McDowell, chairman of the Staff Excellence Award Committee for 2001-2002. "We'd like to get as many good nominations as possible."

Qualifications for the award include:

  • Be a full-time, non-temporary staff member with a minimum of two years service;
  • Show meritorious service;
  • Display proven commitment to excellence in service;
  • Excel in his or her job;
  • Demonstrate outstanding abilities, innovative ideas, efficient operations, high level of motivation;
  • Be respected by the university community;
  • Not have been a previous recipient (listed below).

Any full-time member of the faculty or staff of SHSU may make nominations, and employees may make more than one nomination.

Nomination forms are available by calling the Human Resources Department at extension 41068, and the forms may be duplicated. Forms should be returned to the Human Resources Department at the box number indicated on each form.

Previous winners and the years in which they were selected include Pat Johnson, Weldon Matthys, Hester McDaniel (1991); Douglas Blackard, Nancy Nguyen, Carol Shaw (1992); Kathy Bowman, Mildred Jenkins, Shirley McCarty (1993); Mary Jane Bartee, Deborah Jordy, Dorothy Roberson (1994); Sandra Bays, Larry Routh, Barbara Sheffield (1995); Caroline Balke, Charles McDowell, Patricia Sprott (1996).

Also, Sandy Baker, Cathy Johnson, Doris Ulrich (1997); Richard Jenkins, Beth Miles, Gwen Penny (1998); Bob Garrett, Suzette Lampson Kohers, Angie Moore (1999); Robert Dunning, Anita Shipman, Trina Strange (2000); Karen Beeson, Dianne Key, Janet McCullough (2001).

- END -

SHSU Media Contact: Frank Krystyniak
March 7, 2002
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to

This page maintained by SHSU's Office of Public Relations
Director: Frank Krystyniak
Communications Coordinator: Julia May
Located in the SHSU University Advancement Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834
feedback graphic