SHSU logo
media info


SHSU Experts
SHSU Stats
Sam the Man
SHSU History

Huntsville Item
The Houstonian
Gov. Links
Useful Links

Theater & Dance

Sports Update
SHSU Athletics
Rec. Sports

Course Links

Request Info

General Info
Then & Now

The President

Public Relations

Post Office
Search SHSU

Today@Sam |  Headlines |  Calendar |  Experts  |  Notices |  Archives |  Search

SHSU Update for Week of Nov. 24

SHSU to Take Thanksgiving Break

The Thanksgiving holiday will begin for faculty and students at 9 p.m. Tuesday at the conclusion of evening classes.

Residence halls will close at 10 p.m.

The university will remain open for business on Wednesday, Nov. 27, during regular operating hours, but staff will be on holiday Thursday and Friday.

Classes will resume at 8 a.m. on Monday, Dec. 2.

Chemistry Research Presented in Austin

Members of the Sam Houston State University Department of Chemistry recently presented research papers at the American Chemical Society Southwest Regional Meeting in Austin.

The research was supported by the Robert A. Welch Foundation of Houston, the National Science Foundation which gave an undergraduate research award to student Christie Jones, and the Deutscher Akademischer Austaudienst which gave the German Award to David Corley and Rick C. White.

The paper presentations represented the research activities of the Department of Chemistry through the summer with the undergraduate students.

Four faculty members, 13 undergraduate students and one graduate student attended and presented papers, including Katrina Starrick, Sara Spikes, Erin Fontenot, Paul Loeffler, Jerry W. Swearingen Jr., Thomas G. Chasteen, Suminda Hapuarachchi, Rick White, David A. Corley, Michael C. Towler, Jay Thapar, Mary F. Plishker, Christie N. Jones, Benny E. Arney Jr., Laura Barham, Stacy Sherrod, Paula McCall, and Ahalya Ramanathan.

Organization to Conduct Coat Drive

The SHSU Public Relations Student Society of America is hosting a coat drive for needy families of Huntsville on Wednesday, Dec. 4, at 5 p.m. in the Dan Rather Communications Building Room 201.

The organization is requesting donations of warm winter coats in good condition with no repairs needed.

For more information, contact Justin Kmiec at 936.439.0008.

Biological Sciences Students Attend Conference

Eight SHSU faculty, staff and undergraduate students from the Department of Biological Sciences attended the annual Student Research Conference at Moody Gardens in Galveston on Nov. 16.

Attending the conference were professors Monte Thies, Tamara Cook, William Lutterschmidt, Diane Neudorf and Justin Williams. Also, Kathleen Thies and undergraduate students Brandon Lowery and Lauren Grawey.

Lowery, under the direction of Cook, presented a poster about protozoan diversity of a parasite in East Texas streams. Grawey presented a poster of her work with Williams about a tree inventory at Sam Houston State University.

The Department of Biological Sciences also operated a booth to recruit prospective graduate students from among the undergraduate students and presenters attending the conference.

New Members Named to Alpha Chi

Sixty-two Sam Houston State University students have joined the Texas Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi National College Honor Scholarship Society this semester.

They are: Britni Adams, Amanda Baird, Amanda Ball, Jessica Beechwood, Sarah Becker, Laura Berryhill, Amanda Bickham, Michelle Black, Matthew Boozer, Benjamin Bostick, Erin Bracewell, Jennifer Brannon, Amy Briggs, Jessica Brown, Rachel Broxson, Emilie Bunch, Larry Burke and Kent Byers.

Also, Danielle Davison, Karen DeBrock, Lisa Donalson, Lola Elder, Nathan Eschenburg, Stephanie Frei, Wendy Gaertner, Emma Hall, Kristie Harris, Dan Hart, Terri Hart, Jonathan Hiesberger, Stacey Jacobs, Jo Lilley and Amanda Lugo.

Also, Donna McKibben, Memorie McLeod, Laura Maddux, Stephanie Marek, Vanessa Marlow, David Matthews, Michelle Miller, May Mour, Edward Pina, Robert Riffe, Alicia Sabbs, Larry Sechelski Jr., Monica Segundo, Barbara Sexton, Sara Schramm, Stacy Sherrod, Jennifer Shiflet, Rebecca Smith, Elizabeth Steiner and Dana Story.

Also, Ashley G. Turner, Ashley P. Turner, Heather Vargo, Ryan Volkmer, Terri Wagamon, Pamela Waltmon, Krystal Willeby, Janna Williams and Travis Williams.

Founded in 1922, Alpha Chi is opposed to bigotry, narrowness, and distinctions between people on any basis, and seeks to promote the genuine personal worth of each individual. The motto of the society is "Ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free." John 8:32.

Staff Team Collects Most Money for Local Walk

Congratulations to the members of the Sam Houston State University Staff Team who participated in the American Heart Walk on Nov. 16.

The group received a plaque for collecting the most money for the event. It is the second consecutive year that the team has been recognized for the achievement. The group collected $2,884 this year.

Team captain was Debbie Birdwell, and members included Cindy Allbright, Gloria Beardsley, Dayna Birdwell, Gustie Callaway, Charles Carlow, Mandy Carrell, Tammy Gray, Marilyn Harper, Karen Hlozek, Debra Holl, Julia May, Charles McDowell, Karen McPike, Norma O'Bannon, Gaylynn Ratliff, Carol Reinke, Vickey Saucier, Diane Scates, Jamie Tillerson, and Beverly Wiggins.

Saucier and Carlow were "red cap" walkers in the event, indicating that they had undergone open-heart surgery in the past six months.

Nancy Gaertner, wife of SHSU President James Gaertner, served as the Walker County Division chairman of the 2002 American Heart Walk. The total amount collected locally for the event was approximately $29,000, which far exceeded the $19,000 goal.

The American Heart Walk helps fight heart disease and stroke by raising money to support lifesaving research, programs, and education. It also helps people take the first step toward a heart-healthy lifestyle by becoming more physically active. This year nationwide, more than 500,000 people are expected to participate by walking, serving or donating to the American Heart Walk.

SHSU Update

Please send information for the SHSU Update to the Office of Public Relations at SHSU. For electronic access to SHSU news see the public relations web page Today@Sam.

- END -

SHSU Media Contacts: Frank Krystyniak, Julia May
Nov. 24, 2002
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to

This page maintained by SHSU's Office of Public Relations
Director: Frank Krystyniak
Communications Coordinator: Julia May
Located in the SHSU University Advancement Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834
feedback graphic