SHSU logo
media info


SHSU Experts
SHSU Stats
Sam the Man
SHSU History

Huntsville Item
The Houstonian
Gov. Links
Useful Links

Theater & Dance

Sports Update
SHSU Athletics
Rec. Sports

Course Links

Request Info

General Info
Then & Now

The President

Public Relations

Post Office
Search SHSU

Today@Sam |  Headlines |  Calendar |  Experts  |  Notices |  Archives |  Search

SHSU Update for Week of May 5

Surplus Auction Scheduled

A surplus auction will be held at the Sam Houston State University property warehouse June 8 at 8:30 a.m.

The warehouse will be open for university departments to tag items for the departments' use until May 22. After that date, items will not be transferred from the warehouse, and preparations will be under way for the sale.

Sale items will be available for viewing Friday, June 7, from 8 a.m. until noon, from 1 to 5 p.m., and on the day of the sale from 7:30 to 8:30 a.m.

The property warehouse is located in the Sam South Complex at 2424 Sam Houston Avenue.

For further information, call 936.294.1903 or 936.294.1908.

Radio-Television Department Honors Alumni

Three media professionals have been inducted into the Sam Houston State University Radio-Television Alumni Hall of Honor for 2001-2002.

The honorees include Mike Sizemore, press secretary for Texas Senator Ken Armbrister; Keith Tomshe, photographer/satellite line truck engineer for WB Channel 39 television station in Houston; and Mike Capps, radio broadcaster for the Round Rock Express Baseball Club.

They were recognized during the RTV Department's annual Eubie Banquet and Awards Ceremony on April 27.

Criteria for nomination of the award includes commitment to excellence within the broadcast and electronic media community, service to the SHSU radio-television department and dedication to the principle of life-long learning.

Previous inductees include Dan Rather, Howard Esse, Bill Wohrer and Rick Christie.

Faculty Member Receives Awards

Frances Brandau-Brown, assistant professor of speech communication, has been named the recipient of the Outstanding New Teacher of the Year Award by the Southern States Communication Association.

The award was announced at the organization's convention held in Winston-Salem, North Carolina last month. The recipient of the award is selected by previous winners from colleges and universities with membership in the organization.

In addition to the award, a paper by Brandau-Brown was nominated as a finalist for the Rose B. Johnson Award. Each year the SSCA selects the best article published in the Southern Communication Journal, which is one of the communication discipline's most highly respected scholarly journals. Brandau-Brown was a co-author of the article, entitled, "The Effects of Loneliness and Verbal Aggressiveness on Message Interpretation."

She is an active member of the SSCA and assisted with the organization's fund raising by creating, developing and implementing the "Caring Connections" program to generate revenue for the SSCA's endowed awards.

Brandau-Brown is also the chair for the Communication Theory Division of the SSCA.

Psychology Club Inducts New Members

The SHSU Psychology Club/Psi Chi recently held its annual banquet at the Elkins Lake Clubhouse.

The highlight of the evening was the induction ceremony for new members and the recognition of awards given to individuals for their contributions over the years to the organization.

This year's inductees are: Jennie Bonner, Amber Brock, Marshall Arthur DeBlanc, Jenifer Dodd, Brian Drake, Gertrude Hilty, Marta Hinton, Charlene Johnston, Amy Jones, John Jordan, Denis Katzilierakis, Sharon Kenemore and Sarah Krum.

Also, Emily Low, Megan Martin, Patricia Dianne Murphree, Amy Platzer, Cheryl Sanders, Amber Van lake, Cristina Vudhiwat and Kimberly Williams.

Newly elected officers include: Michael Baker, president; Taisha Douglas, vice president; Amy Platzer, secretary; and Denise Katzilierakis, treasurer.

The club recognizes Professors of Year at the banquet, and this year the awards were given to Rowland Miller and Richard Cording. Marsha Harman was given special recognition for her sponsorship of the club for the last several years.

Bill Waldron was presented a special award for his contributions. Waldron was the first chair of the Department of Psychology when it was organized in the fall of 1970.

An auction, which raised almost $1000, was held as a first step in the establishment of a new Psi Chi scholarship.

Professors Share Research Results

Several psychology students and faculty from SHSU participated in the Southwestern Psychological Association's annual meeting in Corpus Christi April 18-20.

Edward Clouser and Rowland Miller presented data from their research on close relationships, "Music Preferences and Satisfaction and Commitment in Romantic Couples."

Deborah Olson, Marsha Harman, and A. Jerrry Bruce exhibited their research entitled, "Romantic Relationship Satisfaction: Adult Attachment and Fear of Intimacy."

Matt Menefee, Thomas Kordinak, Bruce and Harman presented some of their results from a psychology of religion research project, "Religious Pluralism, Religious Activity, and Use of Religious Coping."

Harman and Bruce also conducted a three-hour continuing education workshop on "Intervening with Bullies and Their Prey."

Christopher Wilson presented a paper along with a video segment on research conducted in his lab on the topic, "Naloxone Exacerbates Ketamine-Induced Hyperactivity in Rats." Those who had assisted in conducting this research with Wilson were Maria Meshell, Jenny Maisel, Jeffery Smith, Michelle Manley and Kelly Clone.

SHSU Update

Please send information for the SHSU Update to the Office of Public Relations at SHSU. For electronic access to SHSU news see the public relations web page Today@Sam.

- END -

SHSU Media Contacts: Frank Krystyniak, Julia May
May 5, 2002
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to

This page maintained by SHSU's Office of Public Relations
Director: Frank Krystyniak
Communications Coordinator: Julia May
Located in the SHSU University Advancement Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834
feedback graphic