Sam Houston State University logo
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Today@Sam |  SHSU Headlines |  Calendar |  Experts  |  Notices |  News Archives

Staggs Award
Presented to Craycraft

Staggs and Craycraft Sally Craycraft, one of the first graduates of Sam Houston State University's doctoral program in Educational Leadership, was presented the inaugural 1999 Jack Staggs Dissertation Award at a ceremony recently in the College of Education and Applied Science.

Craycraft's research was on "The Relationship Between Brain Dominance and Leadership Style of School Superintendents and Business Chief Executive Officers."

Craycraft was presented a plaque and check for $1,000, by Staggs, professor emeritus in the Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling.

Craycraft said the purpose of her study was to compare the prevailing brain dominance characteristics and self-perceived leadership styles of school superintendents and business chief executive officers from across the U. S.

"The findings of this study revealed that school superintendents are characterized by a brain dominance style which prefers the logical, organized, and controlled processes of the left hemisphere," said Craycraft. "School superintendents generally possessed a more authoritative leadership style and generally lacked the conceptualization skills required by leaders administering in a setting characterized by the need for risk taking and acceptance of change."

Craycraft also found significant differences in brain dominance patterns between male and female leaders, with males showing stronger preference for left hemisphere (technical) and females for right hemisphere (conceptual) skills.

According to Craycraft, "The results of this study identified the cognitive styles most compatible with effective leadership styles among school superintendents and, thus, have implications for the recruitment, selection, and training of educational administrators and could assure a positive movement forward to champion a vision for the future of education."

Staggs, who held a number of teaching and administrative positions in the College of Education and Applied Science at SHSU from 1960 to 1993, established the dissertation award in 1997.

"I believe in improving education in public schools, and felt it would be worthwhile to reward and encourage practical research that would help accomplish that purpose," he said.

The 13 members of the fourth cohort group to be selected to study in the program were also recognized at the reception. Those selected and their school district affiliations include: John Barrera, Houston; Robert Cope, Bryan; Janet Cummings, Navasota; Sylvia Denzlinger, Aldine; Jane Herrera, Conroe; William Kortz Jr., Hempstead; Jennifer Marcoux, Aldine; Terry Rand, Conroe, Linda Rodriguez, Aldine, Mary Ann Sartori, Spring; and Jacquelyn Vail, Conroe. Also, Ellene Polidore, North Harris Montgomery Community College and Molly Cordeau, Region IV Education Service Center.

- END -

SHSU Media Contact: Frank Krystyniak
April 21, 2000
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to

This page maintained by SHSU's Office of Public Relations
Director: Frank Krystyniak
Communications Coordinator: Julia May
Located in the SHSU University Advancement Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834
feedback graphic