[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Today@Sam |  SHSU Headlines |  Calendar |  Experts  |  Notices |  News Archives

Craycraft Appointed
To State Advisory Position

Kenneth R. Craycraft, dean of the College of Education and Applied Science at Sam Houston State University, is one of four persons appointed recently by Governor George W. Bush to the State Board for Educator Certification.

The 15-member board was created in 1995 by the 74th Texas Legislature to govern the standards of the education profession. It oversees all aspects of public school educator certification, continuing education, and standards of conduct.

Craycraft was appointed to a six-year term on the board as the dean of a college of education, and is the board's only such appointment. He replaces Arturo Pacheco, dean of the College of Education of the University of Texas at El Paso.

A native of Mt. Enterprise, Craycraft earned his bachelor's degree from Sam Houston State University, his master's from Stephen F. Austin State University, and doctorate from Indiana University. He has taught at Sam Houston State since 1981, and has held the position of dean of the College of Education and Applied Science since 1993.

In addition to his official duties at Sam Houston State, Craycraft has been active in a number of professional organizations as well. He is president-elect and regional representative of the Teacher Education Council of State Colleges and Universities and president of the Texas Association for the Colleges of Teacher Education.

He also belongs to the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education and the American Association for the Colleges of Teacher Education. He has served on the National Council for the Social Studies to the Early Childhood Advisory Board, Texas Education Agency (TEA) and the Dean's Advisory Board to the Commissioner of Education for the TEA.

Also, he has published numerous articles and is co-author of six books, and is a member of the Huntsville/Walker County Chamber of Commerce.

Also appointed to the board by Governor Bush were Annette T. Griffin of Carrollton, superintendent of schools in the Carrollton-Farmers Branch school district; Xavier Rodriguez of San Antonio, a partner in the law firm of Fulbright & Jaworski; and Antonio Sanchez of Mission, who chairs the math department in the Mission school district.

- END -

SHSU Media Contact: Frank Krystyniak
May 27, 1999
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu

This page maintained by SHSU's Office of Public Relations
Director: Frank Krystyniak
Located in the SHSU University Advancement Building
Telephone: (409) 294-1836; Fax: (409) 294-1834
feedback graphic