[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Today@Sam |  SHSU Headlines |  Calendar |  Notices |  News Archives

SHSU Update for Week of Jan. 17, 1999

Poulenc Anniversary Recital

A song recital in honor of French composer Francis Poulenc, who was born 100 years ago this month, will feature Sam Houston State University baritone Robert Best and music faculty members from Baylor and Southern Methodist universities.

The recital is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. Tuesday in the Recital Hall at 17th and Ave. J on the SHSU campus.

Joining Best will be Robert Barefield (SMU) and Jack Coldiron (Baylor). Accompanists for the event will be Sara J. Davis, Tara Emerson and Julie Loeb.

"The recital features Poulenc's vocal music, including a wide variety of art songs by the composer," said Best. "Perhaps more than any other song composer of the 20th century, his compositions employ a wide variety of styles, from popular Parisian to works bordering on atonality."

The recital is roughly a chronology of song repertoire for the baritone voice, beginning with Poulenc's first published works for baritone in 1918 and continuing through those composed during World War II, said Best. Poulenc, who also composed instrumental music as well, died in 1963, also in February.

All works will be sung in French, with translations available. One of the more interesting works will be "Le Bestiaire" ("The Beasts"), which musically describes the unique characteristics of the camel, goat, grasshopper, dolphin, crayfish and carp.

"The end of the recital will be similar to the 'Three Tenors' format," said Best. "The three baritones will join in the final Poulenc selection, 'Toreador,' which we expect to be an audience pleaser."

Admission to the recital is free to students with identification and Friends of Music pass holders. Tickets at the door are $5. For more information, call 409-294-1360.

Smith to Emcee Gala

Steve Smith, who anchors Houston's KHOU-TV (Channel 11) news telecasts, will be the master of ceremonies for Sam Houston State University's College of Arts & Sciences fundraising gala Feb. 6.

Smith, who joined Channel 11 in 1976, also worked for seven years as a reporter/anchor for KPRC-TV (Channel 2). He has won numerous awards for his work, including being named Communicator of the Year in 1996 by alumni of the University of Houston School of Communications.

An awards ceremony will honor Frankie Zou Kerr, Dr. Bill Burdeaux Jr., Bernardine Oliphint, Ed Sandhop, and James E. Long for their professional achievements and contributions to SHSU and the College of Arts & Sciences.

The evening's events will include an auction, dinner, a performance of selections from movie musicals of the 30s, 40s and 50s by the Department of Theatre and Dance, music by Charlotte Tull and the Young Family Band, and dancing with music by the SHSU Jazz Combo.

Auction items will include various sporting trips, trips to exotic locations, fine art, autographed books, and other offerings. A list of auction items will be mailed to those buying tickets. Call 409-294-1401 for ticket information.

Cheer Groups Compete Well

Sam Houston State University's Orange Pride dance team, last year's national champions in the Universal Cheerleading Association's Division 1 national competition, finished second this year in recent competition in Orlando, Fla.

While the dance teams and cheerleading groups compete against schools of similar size, mascot competition is held in only one division. This year Mark Berry, seen at athletic events as Sammy the Bearkat, was ranked as the sixth best mascot in the country.

The coed cheerleading squad also placed 2nd in Division I and the all-girl squad placed 3rd.

The Orange Pride, coached by Gerald Hardy, includes Monica Argumedo, Maggie Babcock, Rachel Broxson, Elijah Gibson, Stephanie Guzzetta, Courtney Kirten, Kacy Laragan, Christine Malczewskyj, Kacy Menefee, Jennifer Robinson, Gina Taylor, Malana Woodson, Amanda Payan, Jennifer Hostutler, and Michelle Gonzalez.

Cheerleaders, coached by Jeff Dieta and Lisa Harp, include Kristin Yanowski Robert Sawyer, Kristen Farmer, Edward Brammer Jr., Malana Jones, Lisa Capps, Tammy Lange, Akia Macon, Jennifer Carter, Dana Biggers, Summer Joyner, Jana Romero, Emily Albright, Joshua Tsakonas and Tiffany McCain.

Also, Charisse Saenz, Jessica Hechler, Shelly Spivey, Jaclyn Lowry, Andrea Myers, Billie Overshown, Robert Grubbs, Haley Adcock, Walter Hercules, Brande Bingham, Jennifer Brynie, April Reed, Robin Johnson, Patrick Hagan, Sarah Nicholson, Micah Kerr and Lance Harragan.

Faculty Art Exhibit

The 39th Annual Art Faculty Exhibit at Sam Houston State University opens Tuesday in the Gaddis Geeslin Gallery.

The exhibit continues through Feb. 5, with an opening reception scheduled for 5-7 p.m. Thursday (Jan. 21) at the Gallery. Gallery hours are noon to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. There is no admission fee.

Participating faculty members include Gene Eastman, Denise Lorenz, Susan O'Brien, Ken Zonker, Jimmy Barker, Martin Amorous, Robbie Wallace, Chuck Drumm, Darryl Patrick, Patric Lawler, William Breitenbach, Kate Borcherding and Tony Shipp.

Racquetball Workshops

Two of the top-ranked racquetball players in Texas will appear in free workshops offered Friday (Jan. 22) and Tuesday (Jan. 26) at Sam Houston State University.

Kyle Smith and Dan Davis, each of whom is ranked first in his respective age group and is the current Texas state champion, will conduct the workshops. Davis is also ranked eleventh in the United States.

Friday's sessions are scheduled for 10 and 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. On Tuesday, presentations will be made at 8, 9:30, and 11 a.m. All will be held in the racquetball area of the Health and Kinesiology Building.

The workshops are sponsored by the Department of Health and Kinesiology primarily for students taking racquetball classes, but Bob Case, director of the department, said there will be space for others who might be interested in learning more about the sport. Call him at 409-294-1160 for more information.

- END -

Media Contact: Frank Krystyniak
Jan. 17, 1999
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu

This page maintained by SHSU's Office of Public Relations
Director: Frank Krystyniak
Media Relations Specialist:Phillip Rollfing
Located in the SHSU University Advancement Building
Telephone: (409) 294-1836; Fax: (409) 294-1834
feedback graphic