Accolades, scholarships and a few words of wisdom will be spent on Sam Houston State University's most outstanding students in the coming weeks as the university's four colleges stage their annual honors convocations.

Guest speakers, special music and thousands of dollars in scholarship awards highlight the annual events happening across the SHSU campus through May 5.

The presentations begin April 25 with the College of Business Administration's 25th awards ceremony. Honorees will join faculty, family and friends at 7 p.m. in the recently dedicated Ronald P. Mafrige Auditorium in the Smith-Hutson Business Building.

This year, the college will bestow more than $31,000 in scholarships to 59 extraordinary SHSU business students.

For more information about the business college's honors presentation, contact Keith Jenkins at 294-1286.

On April 27, at 2 p.m., distinguished students and well-wishers from the College of Arts and Sciences will gather for their annual honors event in the George G. Killinger Auditorium of the George J. Beto Criminal Justice Center.

John W. Holcombe, an SHSU political science professor, will deliver this year's convocation address entitled, "Three Lessons for Life and a Final Comment."

A noted speaker on political issues, Holcombe has also earned special recognition as an educator. In 1991 he received SHSU's Excellence in Teaching Award and in 1992 he was a finalist for the university's Excellence in Service Award. He has served as president of the University Faculty Council and as chapter president for the American Association of University Professors.

A reception for the honorees will follow the arts and sciences convocation. For further information, contact Terry Thibodeaux at 294-1336.

The College of Criminal Justice will hold its 1997 honors convocation at 7 p.m. May 1 in the Hazel B. Kerper Courtroom of the Criminal Justice Center. More than $17,000 in scholarships will be awarded to 26 outstanding criminal justice students at this year's event, and 42 students will be recognized for maintaining a grade point average above 3.5.

Additionally, criminal justice students will receive three of the four Augusta Lawrence Scholarships awarded each year at SHSU. The scholarships were established in 1951 by Orville Bullington in honor of Lawrence, a former SHSU English professor. They are awarded to students who exemplify leadership, character, writing ability and involvement in the university and the community.

Keynoting this year's criminal justice program will be Rick Hartley, an SHSU alumnus currently serving as president of the 100 Club. Hartley was an award-winning television newsman for Houston channels KPRC and KTRK before organizing and heading the public information office for the Houston Police Department. He has also served as assistant director of the Texas Department of Corrections.

The 100 Club is a 10,000-member philanthropic organization that provides financial support to area law enforcement communities.

Another special College of Criminal Justice event, slated for 12:30 p.m. on May 1, is the annual Sundial Ceremony. The service honors criminal justice alumni serving throughout the world and memorializes those who have died in the line of duty. The Sundial Ceremony will be held in front of the George J. Beto Criminal Justice Center.

For more information on the Sundial Ceremony or the 1997 Criminal Justice Honors Convocation, call Julia May at 294-1632.

The final spring honors event will be held at 6:30 p.m. May 5 when the College of Education and Applied Science presents scholarships and special recognition awards in the Lowman Student Center Ballroom.

This year the college will present 94 special awards to students demonstrating outstanding academic achievement. Additionally, 61 distinguished students will receive more than $61,000 in scholarship gifts.

For more information on the College of Arts and Applied Science honors convocation, call 294-1100.


Media Contact: Phillip Rollfing

April 21, 1997