• SamWeb iconSamWeb
  • My Sam iconMy Sam
  • E-mail iconE-mail
  • SHSUOnline | Blackboard

Fast Links

Four Named To CHSS Wall Of Honor

Feb. 22, 2012
SHSU Media Contact: Julia May

Share |


The College of Humanities and Social Sciences will honor four individuals on March 23 who have brought dignity and honor to the college through their accomplishments and service.

Selected for recognition on the 2012 Wall of Honor are alumni Robert Gammage and Ron Koska and faculty members James Olson and the late John Holcombe.

The ceremony will take place at 3:30 p.m. in Room C70 on the concourse level of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences Building.

“The 2012 CHSS Wall of Honor recipients are wonderful exemplars of the college’s distinguished alumni and faculty, “ said John de Castro, dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

“We are proud of all they have accomplished, the honor that they have brought upon the college and university, and their outstanding contributions to the education of our students. We are pleased to be able to recognize and honor these extraordinary individuals and present them as role models for future generations,” he said.

Bob Grammage

Robert “Bob” Gammage earned a Master of Arts degree from SHSU in 1965. He was elected to the United States Congress, as well as the Texas House of Representatives and Texas Senate. He was also elected to the Texas Supreme Court and the Texas Court of Appeals, and served as assistant attorney general of Texas. He has taught at South Texas College of Law, San Jacinto College and Sam Houston State.



Ron KoskaRon Koska graduated with a bachelor's degree in psychology in 1961 and founded his own Houston-based firm in 1969. Koska has served on the CHSS Advisory Board and is a Lifetime Member of the Alumni Association of Sam Houston State University. He also has served as a benefactor of the Sam Houston Memorial Museum, Delta Tau Delta National Fraternity, the Brookwood Community, the University of St. Thomas, Port Mansfield Chamber of Commerce, and the Special Olympics, along with other organizations.


Jim OlsonJames Olson is a Distinguished Professor of History and a former department chair at Sam Houston State University. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Brigham Young University and the Master of Arts and doctoral degrees from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Olson is the recipient of all three of SHSU’s faculty excellence awards, for Excellence in Teaching, Research and Service. In 2004 the Council for the Advancement of Education and the Carnegie Endowment for Education named him "Professor of the Year, Texas, for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching." Additionally, Olson is the author, co-author, editor, or co-editor of more than 30 books.


John HolcombeJohn W. Holcombe was a professor of political science at Sam Houston State University until his death in 2008. During his tenure, he also served as acting chair of the department. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Texas in 1963 and his doctorate from Claremont Graduate School in 1972. Holcombe taught classes in American politics, legislative politics, and political participation at SHSU and was awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award in 1991. He also served as faculty adviser to the SHSU chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha national political science honor society. He authored numerous publications throughout his career and participated in many panel discussions at national and international political science conventions.



- END -




This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:
Associate Director: Julia May
Manager: Jennifer Gauntt
Located in Administration Building Suite 115
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu.

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor