• SamWeb iconSamWeb
  • My Sam iconMy Sam
  • E-mail iconE-mail
  • SHSUOnline | Blackboard

Fast Links

Today@Sam Article

Baylor To Honor Thielemann At Michael Johnson Classic

April 18, 2011
SHSU Media Contact: Julia May

Share |

Reprinted with permission from the Baylor "B" Association

The “B” Association will honor five outstanding athletes as Track & Field Legends at the Michael Johnson Classic in Waco on April 23.

Receiving the recognition for Women's Track will be the 4x800 Meter Relay team that placed 4th in the 1991 NCAA Championships. Team members included: Heather Van Dyke Thielemann, Natalie Nalepa, Janet Dollins and Kristin Mulliner. These young ladies earned the distinction of becoming Baylor's first Women's Track All-Americans.

Receiving the Legend Award for Men's Track will be 10-time All-American Raymond Pierre. Raymond was a four-year track letterwinner for the Bears from 1986 - 1989. He captured national attention during his senior year by winning the 1989 NCAA 400 Meter race with a time of 44.59, becoming Baylor's first NCAA Outdoors Champion.

The Michael Johnson Classic will be held at the Hart/Patterson Track and Field Complex in Waco.

(Heather Van Dyke Thielemann is Sam Houston State University's vice president for enrollment management.)



- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office
Director: TBD
Assistant Director: Julia May
Writer: Jennifer Gauntt
Located in the 115 Administration Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu.

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor