• SamWeb iconSamWeb
  • My Sam iconMy Sam
  • E-mail iconE-mail
  • SHSUOnline | Blackboard

Fast Links

Today@Sam Article

Faculty Honored At Academic Awards Dinner

Aug. 31, 2011
SHSU Media Contact: Julia May

Share |

SHSU faculty members who have obtained outstanding achievements and have reached significant milestones in their careers during the past year were recognized during the annual Academic Awards Dinner held Tuesday evening (Aug. 30) in the Lowman Student Center Ballroom.

President Dana Gibson and Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Jaimie Hebert welcomed the honorees and made the award presentations. Entertainment was provided by members of the voice faculty in the School of Music—Nicole Franklin, Christopher Michel and Rebecca Grimes, who were accompanied by pianist Ilonka Rus.

Those honored included:

Promotion to Associate Professor – Janis White, Family and Consumer Sciences

Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure – Jeffrey Anastasi, Psychology and Philosophy; Rebecca Bustamante, Educational Leadership and Counseling; Beth Cory, Mathematics and Statistics; Thomas Cox, History; Jeffrey Crane, History; Brian Domitrovic, History; Shirin Edwin, Foreign Languages; Rebecca Finley, Art; Andrea Foster, Curriculum and Instruction; Yvonne Garza, Educational Leadership and Counseling; Gang Gong, Geography and Geology; Fidel Gonzalez, Economics and International Business; Darren Grant, Economics and International Business; Kurt Jesswein, General Business and Finance; Dustin Jones, Mathematics and Statistics; Michael Lau, Agricultural and Industrial Sciences; Jeffrey Littlejohn, History; Eric Marsh, Theatre and Dance; Lee Miller, Sociology; Judith Nelson, Educational Leadership and Counseling; Javier Pinell, Music; Thomas Prior, Theatre and Dance; April Shemak, English; Laura Sullivan, General Business and Finance; Paula Tripp, Family and Consumer Sciences; Pamela Zelbst, Management and Marketing; and Shuangyue Zhang, Communication Studies.

Promotion to Professor – Frances Brandau-Brown, Communication Studies; Jerry Cook, Biological Sciences; Tamara Cook, Biological Sciences; Geraldine Hynes, General Business and Finance; Renee James, Physics; Rosanne Keathley, Health and Kinesiology; Mary Nichter, Educational Leadership and Counseling; and Robert Stretcher, General Business and Finance.

Tenure – Roberta Sloan, Theatre and Dance

2011 Outstanding Institutional Advising Program Certificate of Merit – Bill Fleming, SAM Center

2011 United States Army Cadet Command Professor of Military Science – David Yebra

Retirees – Caroline Castillo Crimm, History; Alice Fisher, Health and Kinesiology; R. Scott Harnsberger, Newton Gresham Library; Frank W. Hoffmann, Library Science; Joe F. James, General Business and Finance; Randall Dean Lewis, Management and Marketing; and David Payne, Academic Affairs.

Emeriti – Walter Bennett, Sociology; Edwin Davis, Political Science; William Harrell, Agricultural and Industrial Sciences; Witold Lukaszewski, Political Science; Ralph Pease, English; Everett Wilson, Biological Sciences; and David Payne, Academic Affairs.

Excellence in Service – Sergio Ruiz, Music

Excellence in Research – Hiranya Nath, Economics and International Business

Excellence in Teaching – Stacy Ulbig, Political Science

Piper Professor Award – Frank Fair, Philosophy

Distinguished Professor – Richard Watts, Educational Leadership and Counseling

Regents’ Professor – Alessandro Bonanno, Sociology

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office

Assistant Director: Julia May
Writer: Jennifer Gauntt
Located in the 115 Administration Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu.

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor