• SamWeb iconSamWeb
  • My Sam iconMy Sam
  • E-mail iconE-mail
  • SHSUOnline | Blackboard

Fast Links

Today@Sam Article

2011 Faculty/Staff Award Recipients

Aug. 31, 2011
SHSU Media Contact: Julia May

Share |


Twenty year service group 1

TWENTY YEAR SERVICE AWARDS — Front row, left to right: Bette Craig, Newton Gresham Library; Christie Davidson, College of Criminal Justice (CMIT); Karen Whitney, Academic Affairs; Deana Marek, College of Business Administration.  Back row, left to right: Lisa Garrett, College of Fine Arts & Mass Communication (Theatre); Cathi Gillette, Academic Affairs; and Robert Ritchie, Physical Plant.



Twenty year service group 2

TWENTY YEAR SERVICE AWARDS — Front row, left to right: Peggy DeMers, Associate Professor of Music; Deborah Phelps, Professor of English; Toni Abshire, College of Humanities and Social Sciences; and Karen Caldwell, College of Criminal Justice.  Back row, left to right: Rick Bruhn, Professor of Education; Cecil Hallum, Professor Mathematics; Hadley Leavell, Professor of Finance; and Mark Adams, Associate Vice President for Information Technology.  Not pictured:  Cindy Gratz, Professor of Dance; Shirley Villareal, Correspondence; Isabel Rodriguez, Custodial Services; Lisa Tatom, Financial Aid; Thomas Chasteen, Professor of Chemistry; Joan Hudson, Associate Professor of Biology; Joe James, Professor of Finance; and David Kelley, Physical Plant.



Twenty-five year service group

TWENTY-FIVE YEAR SERVICE AWARDS — Left to right:  Laura Burleson, Assistant Professor of Interior Design; Sara Woods, Controller's Office; Debbie McKerall, Information Technology.



Thirty year service group

THIRTY YEAR SERVICE AWARDS — Left to right:  Martin Griffin, Associate Professor of Business Administration; Janice Lange, Associate Professor, Newton Gresham Library; Caroline Balke, College of Business Administration (Management & Marketing); and Kathy Hudson, Veterans Resource Center. Not pictured:  Rick Carpenter, Sam Houston Press.



Thirty-five year and over service group

THIRTY-FIVE YEAR AND OVER SERVICE AWARDS — Left to right:  Henry Howey, Professor Music (35 years); Dorothy Roberson, Academic Affairs and Frank Fair, Professor of Philosophy,  (40 years); and Max Coleman, Professor of Mathematics, (45 years).  Not pictured:  Harold Hurry, Assistant Professor of Business Administration (35 years).



Staff excellence group

STAFF EXCELLENCE AWARD RECIPIENTS — Left to right:  Bernice Strauss, SAM Center; Debbie Allen, Education Leadership and Counseling; Debbie Harper, Art; and Bill Tidwell, Procurement and Business Services.




Doug Odom with Dana Gibson

SPECIAL RECOGNITION — Fire safety specialist Doug Odom was recognized for rescuing a Huntsville citizen from a burning house this summer.



Rockey Carrell with Dana Gibson and Kevin Morris

SPECIAL RECOGNITION — UPD Officer Rocky Carrell (center) was recognized for using his squad vehicle to stop a runaway SUV and preventing it from causing a catastrophe in downtown Huntsville this summer. Shown with Carrell are UPD Chief Kevin Morris and President Gibson.



Bill Burgess with Dana Gibson and Kevin Morris

SPECIAL RECOGNITION - UPD Officer Bill Burgess (center) was recognized for the role he played in clearing intersections when an out-of-control SUV sped into Huntsville. Shown with Burgess are UPD Chief Kevin Morris and President Gibson.





- END -



This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office
Assistant Director: Julia May
Writer: Jennifer Gauntt
Located in the 115 Administration Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu.

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor