2008 Faculty, Staff Awards For Service, Excellence

Faculty and staff member were recognized for their years of service and outstanding contributions to Sam Houston State University on Aug. 28 during the annual Faculty/Staff Convocation in the Criminal Justice Center's Killinger Auditorium.

(Above) SHSU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs David Payne (left) thanks Douglas Krienke, professor of English, for his 40 years of service to the university.



Thirty-five Year Service Award recipients were (left to right) Front Row:  Sam Souryal, professor of criminal justice; Dianne Key, academic affairs; and Samuel Sullivan, professor of education. Back Row:  Raymond Teske Jr., professor of criminal justice, and Kristi Kreier, college of criminal justice.  Not pictured is Joseph O'Brien, associate professor of mathematics and statistics.



Thirty Year Service Award recipients are (left to right) Front Row:  David Burris, professor of computing science; Carol Shaw, college of business administration; Susan White, college of education; and Rowland Miller, professor of psychology and philosophy.  Back Row:  Nedom Muns, professor agricultural sciences, and Larry Brown, custodial and grounds.



Twenty-five Year Service Award recipients are (left to right) Front Row: Marthalene Doshier, college of criminal justice; Sandra Blair, human resources; Nancy Sears, computer services; Charlotte Sanders, residence life; and Judy Smith, undergraduate admissions.  Back Row:  Thomas Seifert, associate professor of art; Philip Swicegood, professor of education; Dick Eglsaer, academic affairs; and Larry Routh, theatre.



Twenty Year Service Award recipients are (left to right) Front Row:  Ann Jerabek, associate professor--Newton Gresham Library; Mitzi Mahoney, assistant professor of political science; and Tammy Gray, college of arts and sciences. Back Row:  Bob Garrett, teacher education; Benny Arney Jr., professor of chemistry; Andrew Horace, physical plant; Bill Brewer, associate professor of accounting; and David Bennett, residence life.  Not pictured:  Charles Capps III, professor of management and marketing, and Ruth Massingill, instructor of mass communication.



2008 Staff Excellence Award recipients are (left to right):  Elfreda D'Cunha, registrar's office; Reyna Ayala, custodial and grounds; and Debra McCall, college of criminal justice.


- END -

SHSU Media Contacts: Julia May
September 3, 2008
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu




This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office
Director: Bruce Erickson
Assistant Director: Julia May
Writer: Jennifer Gauntt
Located in the 115 Administration Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu.



SHSU 'In the News'


Brian Domitrovic, assistant professor of history, appeared on Book TV (C-SPAN) May 1-2, speaking about his recent book "Econoclasts: The Rebels Sparked the Supply Side Revolution and Restored American Prosperity" (www.econoclasts.net).


Houston Chronicle education writer Jeannie Kever recently turned to Regents Professor of English Paul Ruffin for his views on university presses moving toward "digital books" as opposed to traditional ink-on-paper."We're fulfilling the ancient role of the university press, and that is to produce books," said Paul Ruffin, the Texas poet laureate for 2009 and director of the Texas Review Press at Sam Houston State University. "I don't want to give up the book because it is an art."


Faculty/Staff Birthdays


Monday, May 3

Debbie Birdwell


Tuesday, May 4

Rhonda Callaway

David Gaines

James Walker


Staff Council Spotlights


Jennifer Davis

Sonya Ramirez

Molly Doughtie

Sam Houston State University Sam Houston State UniversityA Member of The Texas State University System

"The measure of a Life is its Service."