Sam Houston Percussion Group
John Lane, Director

The Sam Houston Percussion Group, under the direction of John Lane, is the premiere percussion chamber music ensemble at Sam Houston State University. Comprised of a select group of students, the ensemble is featured annually on the Contemporary Music Festival. The CMF has allowed the ensemble to work alongside and commission composers such as John Luther Adams, Mark Applebaum, David Adams, David Dzubay, Kyle Gann and Peter Garland. The Group is becoming known nationally and internationally, including an recent appearances with the National Symphony of Panama, the Alfredo de Saint-Malo International Music Festival, and concerts at the National Institute of Music in Panama.

Sam Houston Percussion Group
Performing Kyle Gann’s
Snake Dance No. 2

University Percussion Ensemble

The University Percussion Ensemble performs works from the standard repertoire, as well as pop and world music selections. Membership consists of both percussion majors and non-majors.

Admission to percussion chamber music groups is by audition only.