COBA LEADERSHIP TEAM MINUTES

January 8, 2016

Present: Doug Berg, Gloria Buchanan, Kurt Jesswein, Gerald Kohers, Juliana Lilly, Philip Morris, Mitchell Muehsam and Valerie Muehsam.

- 1. Approval of Minutes. The minutes were modified and approved.
- 2. <u>AACSB.</u> The Dean went over the upcoming on-site visit with the Leadership Team. The on-site visit is January 24-26, 2016.
- 3. Spring Faculty/Staff Meeting. The spring faculty/staff meeting will be held on Monday, January 11, 2016, at 9:30am in the Haney auditorium. The Leadership Team had a discussion about what should be on the agenda for the meeting.

4. CAD Meeting.

- a. Electronic submission of tenure/promotion portfolios. The Provost would like Tenure and Promotion portfolios to be submitted electronically. Human Resources gave a presentation on electronic submission using Talent Management.
- b. Capital Budget Plan. The Dean gave out information on the capital budget plan for the University.
- c. Computer replacement plan. Computer replacement for faculty and staff will change from a 4 year cycle to a 5/6 year cycle.
- d. Staffing policy. The SHSU policy on staff has been updated to provide guidance to hiring of staff that includes veteran applicants.
- e. Fair Labor Standards Act. The Department of Labor is proposing raising the minimum salary for classifying employees as exempt from \$23,660 annually to \$50,440. Those employees that fall below the new threshold would be considered non-exempt regardless of their title if this proposal is approved.
- f. Special event parking. There is a new policy in place for special events parking. The Dean asked the Leadership Team to work with Julie Campbell if they need special events parking.

5. <u>Miscellaneous</u>

- a. FES is due to the department chair by February 1, 2016.
- b. COBA Student Travel. COBA has set aside funds for COBA Student Travel. Student travel requests should be submitted to Dr. Lilly and she will forward the requests to the Leadership Team for their review/approval. The requests should be submitted three weeks before the dates of travel.
- c. META Assessment. The chairs nominated the following faculty for the META assessment: Ashly Smith, Brad Wesner, Aditi Bhattacharyya, Elsie Ameen, Chris Reutzel, and Carla Jones.
- d. HEAF Requests are due to the Dean's Office by February 1, 2016.
- e. Blackboard Resources. An assessment related resource is being planned utilizing Blackboard.