Committees Overseen

The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs oversees the following committees at Sam Houston State University:

Institutional Review Board

25 members 
Chair of Protection of Human Subjects Committee: Dr. Donna Desforges (Voice: 936.294.1178 Email:

The Institutional Review Board committee reviews proposed research to ensure that the proposed project follows federal guidelines and the accepted ethical principles meet that goal.

For more information about the Institutional Review Board committee and the IRB proposal and review process, please visit the IRB section of the ORSP website.

Institutional Animal Care & Use Committee

12 members 
Chair of Institutional Animal Care & Use Committee: Dr. Marcy Beverly (Voice: 936.294.1222; E-mail:

The IACUC committee was established to oversee and evaluate all aspects of SHSU's care and use of laboratory animals for research or instructional purposes. The committee reviews university animal care facilities a minimum of two times each year; ensures that the university is in compliance with federal and state laws regarding animal care; and recommends policy or procedures pertaining to animal care to the Academic Policy Council.

For more information about the Institutional Animal Care & Use Committee, please visit the IACUC section of the ORSP website, or contact Sharla Miles at 936.294.4875 or email via

Faculty Research Council

9 members 
Chair of Faculty Research Council: Dr. Chad Hargrave, Interim Associate Vice President for Research and Sponsored Programs (Voice: 936.294.1538 Email:

The Faculty Research Council supervises the following:

  • Disbursement of state research enhancement funds to support research conducted by SHSU faculty
  • Formulation of guidelines and the coordination, organization, and active encouragement of faculty research using these state funds

Patent Committee

4 members

The Patent Committee, which is chaired by the Director for Technology Development, reviews Technology Disclosures submitted by Faculty, Staff, and Students. Recommendations regarding ownership, patent-ability or other feasible methods of protection and commercial potential are made, based on ownership and appropriate actions to maximize value for the University, Inventors and the Community.

For more information about the Patent Committee, please contact Dan Davis, Director of Technology Development, at 936.294.2515 or via e-mail at

UAS Committee

6 members 

The UAS Committee has the mission to promote the use of UAS in university research and to develop university policy for UAS to ensure that university UAS activities operate safely, responsibly, legally, and in compliance with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) regulations.

For more information about the UAS Committee, please contact Dr. John Wilson at 936.294.1607.

Texas Invasive Species Institute

3 members
The Texas Invasive Species Institute (T.I.S.I.) is the first comprehensive effort in Texas that is focused on research and coordinating the effective early detection and rapid response to multiple new invasive species that currently impact, or have the potential to impact, ecosystems and produce major economic effects. 
For more information about the Texas Invasive Species Institute, please visit the TISI Website, or contact Autumn Smith-Herron, Director of Texas Invasive Species Institute, at 936.294-3788.