University Faculty Senate Minutes November 7, 2002

Members present: Terry Bilhartz, Leonard Breen, Ted Creighton, Mary Lynn DeShazo, Mary Gutermuth, Marsha Harman, Jeff Harwell, Penny Hasekoester, Deborah Hatton, Joan Hudson, Ann Jerabek, Joe Kirk, Paul Loeffler, Valerie Muehsam, Debra Price, Sam Sullivan, Kandi Tayebi, Tamara Waggener, Gene Young

Member absent: Bill Abbott (personal), Joanne Ardovini-Brooker, David Henderson (professional conflict), Gerald Kohers, Holly Miller (class conflict), Victoria Titterington (class conflict)

Approval of Minutes

The minutes for October 3 and October 17 were approved as amended.

Chair's Report

Chair Muehsam reported that she and Chair-elect Tayebi attended the Texas Council of Faculty Senates meeting. She stated that the main information received at the meeting was the expectation of a budget crunch for the next year. Chair Muehsam will summarize the Roundup Reports from the Faculty Senates around the state of Texas, and these will be attached to the minutes.

Committee on Reduction of Teaching Load

Chair Muehsam stated that President Gaertner set up a committee to examine the fiscal and pedagogical feasibility of moving to a reduced teaching load at Sam Houston State University. The President asked the committee to start by examining the excellent report produced by the Academic Affairs Committee of the Faculty Senate. Chair Muehsam will make this report available on the website.

On-line Evaluations

Senators again discussed the problems associated with on-line evaluations, including the following items:

Implementation of on-line evaluations is difficult.

Not enough computer labs available to which faculty can take classes.

No guarantee that one student fills out only one evaluation.

No guarantee that students ever attended class.

Comments on-line are ruder (computer-mediated communication affects the comments).

Students have been forced to evaluate professors in the past.

Validity of evaluations has not been examined.

The Academic Affairs Committee will look at the validity of on-line evaluations.

Restructuring

The Faculty Senate made the following recommendation. Paul Loeffler moved that The Faculty Senate does not support restructuring at this time for a variety of reasons, including the projected budget shortfall and concerns about the composition of the

proposed colleges. The Senate would reconsider the restructuring at a later time.

Debra Price seconded the motion. The motion was passed unanimously.

Senators discussed the reasons given for the restructuring, including the following items:

Dean of Arts and Sciences has an overwhelming workload.

College of Education needs to focus on education and not be splintered by the applied sciences.

A Dean for the College of Education was hard to find because of the applied sciences.

Differences in disciplines in the Arts and Sciences make merit decisions difficult.

Senators agreed that they needed to understand more fully the reasons for the restructuring. Suggestions were made that it would be more economical to increase the staff in the College of Arts and Sciences office to help reduce the workload and that agriculture could be moved over to Arts and Sciences.

Communication with the Faculty at Large

The Senate discussed ways in which it could improve the communication with the faculty at large. Senator Marsha Harman's communication with those in education was used as an example of how senators could keep their constituents informed. It was decided that each college would choose a representative to send information from the Senate meetings to the chairs of each department in the college. Minutes of the Faculty Senate meetings and merit and tenure promotions for 2001-2002 will be placed on the new website. The website is available at www.shsu.edu/~org_sen/

Faculty may also get to the website from the SAM homepage. Click on Faculty & Staff, click on Faculty Senate.

Chair Muehsam requested that Senators provide information they would like to see on the webpage.

Charter and By-Laws

The new Charter and By-Laws were approved by the President on October 30, 2002.

Honors Recognition

The Senate made the following motion. Ann Jerabek moved that **Honor students should** receive their medallions on stage at the graduation ceremony. Leonard Breen seconded the motion. It was passed unanimously.

University Calendar

Chair Muehsam serves on the Calendar Committee. She stated that SAM is one of only a small number of schools in Texas that organize the calendar by institutional days instead of institutional weeks. Jeff Harwell stated that he has a report issued by the Faculty Senate about this issue. He will share it with the Faculty Senate. The Senate made the following motion. Mary Gutermuth moved that **The Faculty Senate supports moving to institutional weeks for the academic calendar.** Gene Young seconded the motion. It was passed unanimously.

The Faculty Senate will look at the feasibility of moving to a four-day class schedule similar to that used in the College of Business.

Athletics Advisory Council

The Faculty Senate made the following motion. Sam Sullivan moved that **Gene Young** should be the Senate representative on the Athletics Advisory Council. Paul Loeffler seconded the motion. It was passed unanimously.

Additional Research Fund Guidelines

The Faculty Senate discussed the guidelines for the old grant program. The following motion was made. Debra Price moved that **The old guidelines should remain in place for the grant competition this year and that the deadline for the proposals should be February 1.** Deborah Hatton seconded the motion. It was passed unanimously.

Research Council

Dr. Gordon Plishker asked that the Faculty Senate endorse faculty recommended by the Deans for the Research Council. He would then choose the faculty to recommend to the President. Faculty Senate did not approve of the new process for selection of the Research Council. The following motion was made. Sam Sullivan moved that **The Faculty Senate chooses not to endorse the list of candidates from the Academic Deans owing to objections to the changes in the procedures in the selection of the Research Council.** Mary Lynn DeShazo seconded the motion. It was passed unanimously.

Committee on Committees

Committee on Committees recommended faculty to fill vacancies on the following committees: The Faculty Grievance Committee and the Admissions Standards and Applications Committee. The nominations were unanimously accepted.

Respectfully submitted,

Kandi Tayebi, Chair-Elect