Web Governance Council

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Vice President for Information Technology

Number of Members: 7

Correct as of: September 2017

Purpose. Sam Houston State University recognizes the value and potential of the web as a tool in support of its mission of education, scholarship, and service. The ever increasing reliance on the SHSU web site as a means to access the majority of the university’s mission critical applications has created the need for addressing the broader set of issues surrounding the campus’ varied use of this essential communications infrastructure. A Web Governance Committee charged with responsibility for identifying and addressing these issues would provide focused and consistent practices for the use of SHSU websites as well as analysis and the resultant data needed to support strategic planning activities. The charter of the proposed committee would include several functions including:

  1. Clarify and document web strategic goals for SHSU
  2. Clarify and document for the development of standards for web development
  3. Provide guidance and approval for web policies and content guidelines 
  4. Provide guidance and approval for accessibility policies
  5. Provide guidance and governance for changes to core Web design templates 
  6. Provide a framework for dispute escalation and resolution

Appointments. The committee would consist of seven individuals, including the chair. The members would serve indefinite terms. The President makes all appointments, including the chair/co-chairs who would serve an indefinite term.

Committee Members


Jurden Bruce, Client Services, Division of Information Technology

Indefinite Terms:

Jeff Olsen, Communications
Andrew Stewart, Academic Instruction Technology and Distance Learning
Eric Odom, Academic Instruction Technology and Distance Learning
Jana Richie, Enrollment Management Communication
Lucrecia Chandler, Client Services, Division of Information Technology
Kelley Osborn, Disability Services

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394
Email: heatheradams@shsu.edu

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor