Student Organizations Board

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Vice President for Student Affairs

Number of Members: 13

Faculty 4

Resource 1

Students 8

Correct as of: August 2017

Purpose. Reviews applications for recognition and maintenance of recognition for student organizations, and reviews actions of student organizations. Actions for which all student organizations are subject to review by the Board shall be: (1) noncompliance with the provisions of the University Student Organization Policy; (2) noncompliance with the provisions of the University Facilities Use Policy; (3) noncompliance with the University Speakers Policy; (4) noncompliance with the organization's stated purposes and goals, or disruption of the educational process of the university; and (5) violations of the laws of the State of Texas or of policies and regulations of the university and the Board of Regents.

Appointments. The board shall consist of eight students, four faculty, and one member of the administration, and shall be selected as follows: (1) The chair shall be appointed by the President of the university, and may be selected from either student appointees or faculty appointees. (2) SEVEN STUDENT MEMBERS, one representative from each of the seven colleges, shall be selected by the President of the Student Government Association with the approval of the Senate. One at-large STUDENT MEMBER shall be nominated by the Chair of the committee. Each student member shall serve a term of one year. (3) The four faculty members shall be appointed by the President of the university from a list of eight recommended by the Faculty Senate, and each faculty member shall serve a two-year term and shall be eligible for reappointment, with terms arranged to permit the expiration of the terms of two faculty members each year. (4) The Coordinator of Student Organizations shall be appointed as the administrative member, and shall serve as Secretary, and as a nonvoting resource person.

Committee Members

Term for Chair expires August 31, 2018

Kathleen Latz, Chair

Administrative Member

Daniel Erickson, Student Organization Specialist

Faculty Members

Terms expire August 31, 2018

Kathleen Latz, Criminal Justice
Jin Y. Choi, Humanities and Social Sciences

Terms expire August 31, 2019

Darren Williams, Science & Engineering Technology
Susan Elkins, Newton Gresham Library

Student Members

Terms expire May 31, 2018

Sharon Colocho, Student Member
Chelsea Page, Student Member
Karla Victor, Student Member
Alexus Hardy, Student Member
Bryan Iwu, Student Member
Caitlyn Gaffney, Student Member
Shelsea Arzate, Student Member

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor