Safety Committee

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Vice President for Finance and Operations

Number of Members: 13

Faculty: 3

Staff: 9

Students: 1

Correct as of: August 2017

Purpose. Detects unsafe conditions and practices and suggests remedies: observes unsafe acts and makes recommendations for corrections, discusses and analyzes accident experiences to preclude reoccurrences; and disseminates minutes to the Environmental Health & Safety Office for posting on the EHS & RM website.  Coordinates the annual Campus Safety Walk.  May assist with review and revision of Safety Policies/Procedures. Meets at least twice a year.  E-mails on an as needed basis.

Appointments. The President makes all appointments and designates the Chair; indefinite terms.

Committee Members

Steve Shields, Chair

Kevin Morris, Director, Public Safety Services
Juan Nunez, Associate Vice President for Facilities Management
Drew Miller, Assistant Vice President of Student Services & Executive Director, Counseling and Health Services
Kelly Bielamowicz, Director, Office of Audits & Analysis
Doug Odom, Environmental Health & Safety Coordinator
Steve Shields, Executive Director, Environmental Health, Safety & Risk Management
David Yebra, Director, Emergency Preparedness & Safety
Phillip Lyons, Dean, College of Criminal Justice
Darren Williams, Professor, College of Science and Engineering Technology
Donna Desforges, Professor, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Jonathan Breazeale, Chair, Faculty Senate
Melissa Fadler, Chair, Staff Council
Briauna Augustus, President, Student Government Association

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor