Grievance Committee, Faculty

Appointed by: President

Reports to: President

Number of Members: 19

Faculty 13

Administrators 6

Correct as of: August 2015

Purpose. Reviews written complaints from faculty members and recommends to the President of the University whether or not the facts merit continued inquiry by the committee.

Appointments. The President makes all appointments and designates the Chair. Membership is divided as follows: one administrator and two faculty members from each college and one faculty member from the library. The faculty members shall be selected from University Faculty Senate nominations. The administrators shall be selected from Academic Policy Council nominations. Additional nominations may be solicited from either body by the President. The Chair shall be selected by the President in consultation with the Chair of the University Faculty Senate and the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. Members serve indefinite terms, with replacements nominated as necessary by the appropriate bodies. Chair serves a one-year, renewable term.

Committee Members

Term for Chair expires August 31, 2016:

TBD, Chair


Laura Sullivan, Business Administration
Michael Pass, Business Administration
Jorn Yu, Criminal Justice
Steven Cuvelier, Criminal Justice
Bill Edgington, Education
Jamiylah Butler, Education
Kathy Daniel, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Thomas Prior, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Marsha Harman, Humanities and Social Sciences
Eugene Young, Humanities and Social Sciences
Susan Strickland, Newton Gresham Library
David Burris, Sciences
Carol James, Sciences
Kelly Zinn, Health Sciences
Brent Estes, Health Science


Jurg Gerber, Criminal Justice
Holly Miller, Criminal Justice
Daphne Johnson, Education
Jennifer Pontius, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Ann Stiles, Health Sciences
Jerry Bruce, Humanities and Social Sciences
Peter Cooper, Sciences
TDB, Business Administration
TBD, Education

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor