University Faculty Senate

Elected by: Faculty

Reports to: President

Number of Members: 31

Faculty 31

Correct as of: August 2017

Purpose. The Faculty Senate shall consider matters of general welfare to the University placed before it by members of the faculty, members and committees of the Faculty Senate, the Student Association, the President of the University, and other administrative officers of the University. Inasmuch as the Faculty Senate is advisory in nature, decisions on all such matters shall be final only when approved by the President of the University, subject to the authority of the Board of Regents and the Coordinating Board. The Faculty Senate shall have no existence separate and apart from the University.

Appointments. The Charter of the Faculty Senate sets forth the Composition of Faculty Senate under Article II and includes the Eligibility, Election Procedure, and Nominations and Elections. The Faculty Handbook includes the Charter in its entirety.

Note: The Faculty Senate survey can be found here.

Committee Members

Jonathan Breazeale*, Chair
Anthony Watkins III*, Chair-Elect/Secretary

Terms expire August 31, 2018

Nancy Baker, Humanities and Social Sciences
Stacy Ulbig, Humanities and Social Sciences
Joan Bytheway, Criminal Justice
Don Bumpass, Business Administration
Santosh Kumar, Business Administration
Karen Miller, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Eric Marsh, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Melinda Miller, Education
Andrea Foster, Education
Madhusudan Choudhary, Sciences
William Jasper, Sciences
Donovan Haines, Sciences

Terms expire August 31, 2019

James Crosby, Humanities and Social Sciences 
Stephen Rapp, Humanities and Social Sciences
Jonathan Breazeale*, Business Administration 
Burcu Ates, Education
Ryan Zapalac, Health Sciences
Jennifer Didier, Health Sciences
Donald Albert, Sciences
Brandy Doleshal, Sciences
C. Renee James, Sciences
Anthony Watkins III*, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Michael Hanson, Newton Gresham Library

Terms expire August 31, 2020

Vlad Radoias, Business Administration 
Kenneth McIntyre, Humanities and Social Sciences
Maria Botero Jaramillo, Humanities and Social Sciences
Sarah Kerrigan, Criminal Justice
Bobby LaRue, Criminal Justice
Kevin Clifton, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Helen Berg, Education
Nancy Stockall, Education

*Name appears more than once

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor