Enhancing Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities (EURECA) Advisory Council

Appointed by: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reports to: Vice Provost

Number of Members: 20

Faculty: 14
Administrators/Staff: 6

Correct as of: August 2017

Purpose. Studies and develops plans that advance the culture of the scholarly and creative excellence by facilitating, enhancing and supporting undergraduate students in discipline-specific inquiry and educating undergraduate students about how it enriches the academic experience and helps them realize professional goals.  Assists deans with developing discipline-specific inquiry in their colleges that further enhances the culture of undergraduate research and creative activities at SHSU.  Serves as an advisory body for the selection of summer research teams and student travel awards.

Appointments. The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs makes all faculty appointments from nominations submitted by the academic deans.  The committee consists of two representatives from each academic college, with staggered two-year terms.  Additionally, the director (or their designated representative) of the McNair program, Student Success Initiatives, the Elliott T. Bowers Honors College, The Woodlands Center, and Newton Gresham Library serve indefinite terms.  The director of the EURECA Center, who is appointed by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, serves as the chair of the EURECA Advisory Council.

Committee Members


Madhusudan Choudhary

Faculty - Terms expire August 31, 2018

Santosh Kumar, Business Administration
Brandy Blasko, Criminal Justice
Andrea Foster, Education
TBA, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Shelby Brock, Health Sciences
TBA, Humanities and Social Sciences
John Alford, Science & Engineering Technology

Faculty - Terms expire August 31, 2019

Kamphol Wipawayangkool, Business Administration
Lisa Muftic, Criminal Justice
Hannah Gerber, Education
Victoria Lantz, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Stephen Brown, Health Sciences
Heather Evans, Humanities and Social Sciences
Shyam Nair, Science & Engineering Technology

Administrators/Staff - Indefinite Terms

Lydia Fox, McNair Program
Kay Angrove, Student Success Initiatives
Tracy Bilsing, Elliott T. Bowers Honors College
Janet Mullings, The Woodlands Center
Lisa Shen, Newton Gresham Library

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394
Email: heatheradams@shsu.edu

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor