Core Curriculum Assessment Committee

Appointed by: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reports to: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members: 16

Administrative: 8

Faculty: 7

Staff/Ex-officio: 1

Correct as of: August 2017

Purpose.  Review and recommend changes, as needed, to the core curriculum assessment process at SHSU to ensure that they are sufficient to satisfy the requirements set forth by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.  Help facilitate the assessment of the THECB’s Core Learning Objectives, both within their respective colleges and across the University.  Review all collected assessment data regarding the Core Learning Objectives and provide recommendations for ways to improve student learning across the University.  In advisory capacity, review the core assessment portions of both proposed and existing core curriculum courses to ensure adequate coverage of the THECB’s Core Learning Objectives.

Appointments.  The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs makes all appointments from the nominations submitted by the academic deans and the Vice President for Student Affairs.  The committee consists of one associate or assistant dean from each academic college, one faculty member of associate or full professor ranking from each academic college, and one ex-officio member from the Division of Student Affairs. The associate/assistant deans serve indefinite terms, the remaining faculty members and the ex-officio Student Affairs member all serve two-year terms, with half of the appointments expiring each year.  The Chair for the committee will be the Director of Assessment, and is appointed by virtue of position.

Committee Members


Jeff Roberts

Indefinite Terms:

Kurt Jesswein, Business Administration
Marcus Gillespie, Science and Engineering Technology
Wayne Barrett, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Holly Miller, Criminal Justice
Glenn Sanford, Humanities and Social Sciences
Sandra Stewart, Education
Emily Roper, Health Sciences

Faculty - Terms expire August 31, 2019

Zijun Luo, Business Administration
Art Wolfskill, Science and Engineering Technology
David McTier, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Lisa Muftic, Criminal Justice

Faculty - Terms expire August 31, 2018

Stephen Rapp, Humanities and Social Sciences
Daphne Johnson, Education
Stephen Brown, Health Sciences

Ex-officio - Terms expire August 31, 2018

Daughn Pruitt, Student Affairs

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor