Theatre & Musical Theatre News

  • Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival Awards

    Much Ado About Nothing
    Irene Ryan Nominees
    Ashten Lane, Chase Parker-Acting

    Meritorious Awards
    Mitchell Cronin- Lighting
    Kristina Hanssen-Costuming

    Irene Ryan Nominees
    Brandon Whitley, Thomas Williams-Acting


    Musical Theatre Initiative Nominees

    Brandon Whitley, Maryann Williams-Acting

  • Theatre Design & Technology
    Upperclassmen and Alumni working in theatres in eight different states from California to Massachusetts.

    Mitch    Cronin         -   Stages Repertory Theatre, Production Internship

    Roberto    DeHoyo   -  Camp Taconic, Massachusetts, Stagecraft Counselor

    Rachel    Domask     -   Pacific Center for Performing Arts, California,
                                         Assistant Costume Design Apprenticeship

    Colleen     Doyle      -   Westport Country Playhouse, Connecticut, Production Internship

    Rachel     Drewes    -   Stages Repertory Theatre, Production Internship

    Ben     Herrera        -   Unity Theatre, Technical Director, The Emperor’s New Clothes

    Marissa     Hetzer    -   Texas Shakespeare Festival, carpenter; Alabama Shakespeare Festival,
                                        Season carpenter

    John     Moore         -   Kids Peddle Tractor Pull, Oregon, Tour Crew, Main Street Youth Theatre,
                                        Lighting Design Assistant

    Malcolm    Nichols    -   Houston Shakespeare Festival, Master Carpenter

    Jennifer     Sullivan   -  Harbor Playhouse, Corpus Christi, Assistant Make up design, Shrek

    Paisley     Timm        -  Connecticut Repertory Theatre, Scenic Artist

    Charly     Topper      -   Unity Theatre, Set Designer, The Emperor’s New Clothes

    Connor     Toups      -  Alley Theatre, Electrician over hire

    Amanda     Woods   -  Trumpet in the Land, Ohio, Props Department

  • Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival Awards

    Irene Ryan Nominees
    Connor Lyon, Viktoria Kareva-Acting

    Meritorious Awards
    Catie Blencowe-Lighting
    Jackie Ontiveros-Stage Management


    Dog Sees God
    Irene Ryan Nominees
    Taylor Beyer, Christian Quiroga-Acting

    Meritorious Awards
    Tyler Martin-Directing


Department of Theatre & Musical Theatre
Box 2297, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX 77341-2297
Phone: (936) 294-1329 | E-mail:

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor