Faculty & Staff

University Theatre Center

The faculty of the Department of Theatre and Musical Theatre consists of scholars and professional artists in theatre, musical theatre, directing, acting and design.

The full time faculty have worked as professional actors, designers, stage manager, or technical directors many are members of theatre organizations such as Actors' Equity Association, Screen Actors Guild, United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Texas Educational Theatre Association, The Voice and Speech Trainers' Association, Texas Educational Theatre Association, Opera America, the National Association of Teachers of Singing, and the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival.

It is these dedicated men and women devoted to sharing their wisdom and passion for the arts with aspiring performers that gives Sam Houston Department of Theatre and Musical Theatre the reputation for keeping the performing arts alive.


Laura Avery, D.M.A.
Head of Musical Theatre

Kevin Crouch, M.F.A.
Lecturer of Theatre

Kyle Craig-Bogard, B.A.
Assistant Clinical Professor
of Theatre and Musical Theatre

Kristina S. Hanssen
Costume Designer

Penelope Hasekoester, M.F.A.
Chair, Acting, Directing

Victoria Lantz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Theatre

Eric Marsh, M.F.A.
Lighting, Sound

David McTier, Ph.D.
Dramaturgy, Theatre History, Secondary Education

Thomas Prior, M.F.A.
Professor of Theatre, Acting

Pamale Vogel, M.F.A.
Lecturer of Theatre


Craig Brossman, B.F.A.
Facility Manager, Performing Arts Center

April Keith, M.F.A.
Costume Shop Supervisor

Malcolm Nichols, B.F.A.
Theatre Technical Coordinator

Katie Stefaniak, B.F.A.
Theatre Manager

William N. Thomas, B.F.A.
Theatre Productions Coordinator

Paula Turner, B.A.
Administrative Associate II

Department of Theatre & Musical Theatre
Box 2297, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX 77341-2297
Phone: (936) 294-1329 | E-mail: theatre@shsu.edu