Faculty

  • Accredited by the American Psychological Association

    Accredited by the American Psychological Association

Jaime L. Anderson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Psychology

Research interests include the conceptualization, assessment, and diagnosis of personality disorders, with particular focus on the use of dimensional trait models in understanding personality psychopathology.

anderson J

Marcus Boccaccini, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology
Associate Director of Clinical Training

Research interests include adversarial allegiance in expert witness opinions, agreement among forensic evaluators, field reliability and validity of procedures used in forensic assessment.

Boccaccini@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Clinical Psych

Mary Alice Conroy, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor of Psychology
Clinic Director

Research interests include forensic clinical psychology, risk assessment, civil commitment evaluations.

MAConroy@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Clinical Psych

Craig Henderson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology

Research interests include family psychology, juvenile substance abuse treatment, college student alcohol use, exercise-based interventions, advanced data analytic methodology.

CEH003@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Henderson_Headshot_Web

Rowland S. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology

Research interests include social psychology, social emotions (i.e. embarrassment & shame),close relationships.

Miller@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Clinical Psych

David Nelson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology

Research interests include clinical psychology, health psychology, and neurobehavioral functioning.

DVN001@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Clinical Psych

Jorge G. Varela, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology
Director of Clinical Training

Research interests include cultural and linguistic (Spanish) diversity issues in forensic psychology, particularly forensic assessment.  I also maintain professional interests in law enforcement psychology as well as military psychology

jgv002@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Varela

Associated Faculty Research Mentors

Amanda Venta, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Psychology

Research interests include adolescent mental health; the protective effects of adolescent-parent attachment security; and the psychological functioning of recently immigrated adolescents. Dr. Venta is the Director of the Youth and Family Studies Lab.

Venta-01--016_SMALL

Affiliate Faculty:

D. Christopher Wilson, Ph.D.
Department Chair

WILSON@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Jeff Anastasi, Ph.D.

JSA001@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

A. Jerry Bruce, Ph.D.

BRUCE@shsu.edu
 Curriculum Vita

James Crosby , Ph.D.

jwc014@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Donna Desforges, Ph.D.

DESFORGES@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Marsha J. Harman, Ph.D.

Harman@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Phillip Lyons, Ph.D., J.D.

Icc_pml@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Holly Miller, Ph.D.

hmiller@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

Ramona Noland, Ph.D.

School Psychology Program
Noland@shsu.edu
Curriculum Vita

 


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor