The Eighth Annual URS

April 25, 2015

8:00 am to 5:00 pm

CHSS Building


urs owl logo speaking description of URS



We are consistently striving to have all the information about the URS clear and concise. That being said, if you have any questions regarding information, registration, or our website, please contact us directly at

Other contacts:

  • Dr. Kimberly Bell, Faculty Advisor to URS Co-chairs & Associate Director, Elliott T. Bowers Honors College


  • Melanie Adams, URS Marketing Chair & Elliott T. Bowers Honors College Newsletter Student Editor



URS Faculty Committee
Dr. Kimberly Bell Chair
Dr. Lydia Fox
Dr. Maria Holmes
Mr. John Jordan
Dr. Patrick Lewis
Dr. Pamela Zelbst



The URS is hosted by the Honors College Student Ambassadors and sponsored by:

Elliott T. Bowers Honors College
College of Business Administration
College of Education
College of Fine Arts and Mass Communication
College of Health Sciences
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
College of Sciences

The URS especially thanks Dr. Hiranya Nath for his generous Assam Scholarship



Honors Council
Kimberly Bell English
Frank Fair Philosophy
William Hyman Health & Kinesiology
Patrick Lewis Biological Sciences
Brian Loft Mathematics
Holly Miller Criminal Justice
Valerie Muehsam Business
Janet Mullings Criminal Justice
Sheryl Murphy-Manley Music
Stacy Ulbig Political Science
Pamela Zelbst




Honors Faculty and Staff
Gene Young, Ph.D. Dean, H.S.A.C. Advisor
Kimberly Bell, Ph.D. Associate Director
Maria A. Holmes, Ed.D. Assistant Director, Ambassador Advisor
Patrick Lewis, Ph.D. Assistant Director
Jessica Correll Administrative Assistant
Melanie Adams Undergraduate Student Assistant, Newsletter Student Editor
Sarah Renfro Undergraduate Student Assistant
Shealynn Vogan Undergraduate Student Assistant
Maggie Ellison Undergraduate Student Assistant



Honors College Student Ambassadors

Tara Cobler

Katherine Hernandez Christian Morris Shealynn Vogan
Spencer Copeland Sarah Kavanagh Clint Morrison Heather Woitena
Jessica Cordero Megan Lamberth Brooke Selover Rebecca Wood
Alondra Garza Sarah Landsman Michael Semmlinger
Mujtaba Ghene Stephan Little Lea Sonby
Kortney Hanson Jessica Martinez Summer Styles



Honors Student Advisory Council Officers
Melanie Adams President
Darby Slack Vice President
Anthony Bagwell Secretary & Historian


Honors Logo

The Elliott T. Bowers Honors College

Academic Building IV Suite 201 | Box 2479 | Huntsville, Texas 77341-2479

Phone: (936) 294.1477Call: (936) 294.1477 | Fax: (936) 294.1090Call: (936) 294.1090 |

Follow us on Facebook               Follow us on Twitter

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor