Texas Bankers Hall of Fame

The Texas Bankers Hall of Fame was established by the Sam Houston State University banking program to provide positive recognition to Texas Bankers who have made valuable contributions to the banking profession and pioneered the Texas banking industry.

“Banks have played a pivotal part in the development of this nation and this state, and the general public needs to be informed on the positive role banks and bankers have had in the overall economic impact on their communities, state, and nation,” said James B. “Jim” Bexley, chair of the Smith-Hutson Endowed Chair of Banking.

The Texas Bankers Hall of Fame honors four Texas bankers based on nominations from bankers around the state. They are honored at an annual Gala held on the Sam Houston State University campus.

"The honorees have truly made their industry, communities and state better places," said Bexley.

Proceeds from the Gala support the Banking Program as well as the Executive MBA (EMBA) scholarship program which provides $5000 scholarship to attend the EMBA program in Banking and Financial Institutions at Sam Houston State University. In order to be eligible for consideration, potential students must complete an application. 

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor